Book Review for “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Insightful, bold, irreverent, and raw, The Fault in Our Stars is award-winning-author John Green’s most ambitious and heartbreaking work yet, brilliantly exploring the funny, thrilling, and tragic business of being alive and in love.

the-fault-in-our-stars

Amazon Buy Button

 

At first, I was apprehensive to read this book. My mother in law died of cancer a few years ago and it has been tough on the whole family. 

The authenticity of the feelings that Hazel experiences blew me away. The struggle she has here is so real. Dealing with these issues as a child and a teen is something I couldn’t imagine. How outcast it must make you feel. Which lets be honest…as a teen we all already feel like outcasts. 

I completely understand her worry about people getting attached to her. My mother in law often joked that she was a ticking time bomb. I can’t imagine how lonely that feeling really is. Especially for someone who hasn’t had all those years without being sick. 

Gus is such a cool guy! So much personality! He’s a whirlwind. Gus is that perfect person to help you remember that as long as your alive….you may as well live. I loved him from the moment he explained his cigarette metaphor. Clever fella.

Their love story is so special. It brings tears to my eyes to think of that grasping feeling they both must of had. That feeling the rest of us take for granted. Whereas, we have this “that’ll never happen to me” attitude…they don’t. It’s already happened.   

I learned myself years ago that funerals are for the living. The person everyone is talking about isn’t what those left behind need to heal. It’s keeping the rest of us off the cliff to oblivion. It’s reminding each of us that we are still here. So, make the best of it. Do something with it. Never take it for granted.

This book spoke to me on so many levels. 

I give it the full 5.

5 stars

Amazon Buy Button

The Technical Data:

Title: The Fault In Our stars | Series: N/A  |  Author(s): John Green  |Publisher: Penguin Books / Publication Date: 4-08-2014 |Pages: 336 (Print) | ISBN: 978-0142424179 |Genre(s): Fiction / Young Adult / Cancer / Social & Family Issues|Language: English |Rating: 5 out of 5 |  Date Read: 2015 |Source: Copy from personal collection.

 

One thought on “Book Review for “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

  1. I love your blog format! This was a great review; I’ve always meant to read this (I even have a copy!) but unfortunately there’s so much other stuff to do/read! I only got about halfway. One of these days, though, I swear I’ll get around to it!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

