Book Review for “Mercy’s Prince” by Katy Huth Jones

 

Butterfly background image

As second son of the King of Levathia, seventeen-year-old Valerian desires the quiet life of a scholarly monk. But when he fails to save his older brother in battle, Valerian must instead become crown prince. While a traitorous knight schemes against him, Valerian meets Mercy, a pacifist Healer with whom he can speak mind-to-mind like the great dragons. Their bond emboldens Valerian to seek out the legendary dragons and ask for their help against the monsters who killed his brother. Can Valerian survive the traitor’s assassins long enough to find the dragons? And if he does, can he convince them to lay aside their hatred of humans and help him save the land from destruction?

mercys prince

Amazon Buy Button

This is definitely my kind of book. It reminded me of the ” a song of fire and ice” series in some ways. Mainly the time period and the dragons.

I really enjoyed reading this book. The character development is well done. I felt like I really got to know the characters. 

From the beginning it’s nonstop action. The characters are into one situation after another. It really makes it hard to put down. I kept telling myself ….one more page…just one more page. I got lost in this world. The description is well done but not overly done. There is room to imagine. I really enjoy that. 

I like how the love story wasn’t an instant BOOM they are in love. I like how it developed and naturally came about. Instant love isn’t a deal breaker for me but, I enjoy watching the feeling form and bloom. It helps build a relationship with the characters. 

I did feel bad for Kieran. He liked Mercy ( Merry) from the beginning and for awhile I really thought it would be a match between her and him. Don’t get me wrong, the way it ends is great. I just feel bad that he got kinda brushed aside. Especially in the end of the story. You can tell he is really hurting. He’s such an interesting character. I would like to see him find someone too. That would round things off really nicely in that respect. 

Lets talk about the dragons! How freaking cool is it that Valerian can talk to dragons! I mean, wow. Can someone let me in on how to do that..and..also…you know..find me a dragon to be buddies with. Oh, and you know…one I can ride! 

I’m just saying…it really doesn’t get more awesome. That’s pretty much as cool as you can get. Riding in on a DRAGON to save the kingdom. Talk about a legacy. 

I loved the story. I am very much looking forward to reading more!

This is a no doubt five star book in my opinion. 

5 stars

Amazon Buy Button

The Technical Data:

Title: Mercy’s Prince | Series: He Who Finds Mercy Series  |  Author(s):  Katy Huth Jones |Publisher: Create Space Independent Publishing / Publication Date: 7-1-2015 |Pages: 430 (Print) | ISBN: 978-1514381670  |Genre(s): Fantasy |Language: English |Rating: 5 out of 5 |  Date Read: 10-20-2015 |Source: Copy from author.

I would like to thank the author for giving me the opportunity to read and review her book. it has truly been a pleasure.

 

About The Author

Katy Jones

Katy Huth Jones grew up in a family where creative juices overflowed and made puddles to splash in. When not writing or sewing or drawing or taking photos, Katy plays piccolo and flute in The Symphony of the Hills. She lives with her husband Keith in the beautiful Texas Hill Country. Their two sons, whom she homeschooled, have flown the nest and live creative lives of their own. Best of all, she is a cancer survivor.

http://katyhuthjones.blogspot.com/

4 thoughts on “Book Review for “Mercy’s Prince” by Katy Huth Jones

  1. Pingback: Indie Author Spotlight – Katy Huth Jones | alliesopinions

  2. Pingback: Book Review for “Mercy’s Gift” by Katy Huth Jones | alliesopinions

  3. Pingback: “He Who Finds Mercy” Series – Clean Fantasy! | alliesopinions

Leave a Reply

