Indie Author Spotlight – Katy Huth Jones

Katy Jones

Author bio:

Katy Huth Jones grew up in a family where creative juices overflowed and made puddles to splash in. She has published seven books with another forthcoming in January 2016, and hundreds of short stories, poems, and articles in magazines and anthologies. When not writing, Katy plays piccolo and flute in a regional symphony. She lives with her husband Keith in the beautiful Texas Hill Country. Their two sons, whom she homeschooled, have flown the nest and live creative lives of their own.


I first got to know Mrs. Jones when I reviewed a book of her’s called “Mercy’s Prince”. The review HERE.  I fell in love with her writing style and her characters! She is the perfect person to start off our Indie Author Spotlight.


 Interview

Q: In an interview with Clean Indie Reads, you talked about having to throw out and re-write almost your entire book. Do you think that was a major building point for you as an author? Why?

 

A: It was definitely a major building point for me. When I wrote the first draft in 1989, I really didn’t understand how to write a novel. I came up with a plot and then forced some cardboard cutouts onto the plot as if I were playing chess with them. It didn’t work, even after several drastic rewrites. But once I threw away everything but the opening scene, I gave the characters permission to tell me THEIR story, and everything fell into place as I wrote down what I saw (action) and heard (dialogue). In the process I learned who they really were. Since I was writing this story while my father died a lingering, painful death, my emotions were channeled through the characters, and for the first time they became living, breathing people to me instead of cardboard cutouts.

Q:  Prince Valerian starts off as a very timid young man. When do you think was the moment he overcame that?

 

A: Valerian was always willing to remain in the background and let his older brother have the spotlight. He is definitely floundering in the beginning, trying to accept his new role as crown prince. There is no one moment when he overcomes his timidity, but I believe the beginning of his confidence happens when he goes to the dungeon on his own initiative to talk to the Brethren leader and then comes up with an alternate punishment. On the journey south he learns how to be a leader, and that boosts his confidence, as well.

Q: Why did you choose a Medieval like time frame for this story?

 

A: For one reason, I’ve always been fascinated by Medieval times. But that kind of society seemed to “fit” the history of the land of Levathia, which is populated by people who escaped persecution in their own faraway land and established a feudal society in their new land for protection from the dragons and outside invaders.

Q: What is the best advice you could give to new writers?

 

A: Write because you LOVE to write, and because you MUST write! If I go too many days without writing, I get jittery and the words fill my head until I think they’ll leak out my ears. So many people want to “get into writing” to get rich or famous, but few can make a living writing fiction. Fame and fortune are fickle; love is forever.


Katy Huth Jone’s book “Mercy’s Prince” Can be purchased at Amazon. Link : Mercy’s Prince

I couldn’t recommend this book enough!

Information about the book:

mercys prince

Summary:

As second son of the King of Levathia, seventeen-year-old Valerian desires the quiet life of a scholarly monk. But when he fails to save his older brother in battle, Valerian must instead become crown prince.

While a traitorous knight schemes against him, Valerian meets Mercy, a pacifist Healer with whom he can speak mind-to-mind like the great dragons. Their bond emboldens Valerian to seek out the legendary dragons and ask for their help against the monsters who killed his brother.

Can Valerian survive the traitor’s assassins long enough to find the dragons? And if he does, can he convince them to lay aside their hatred of humans and help him save the land from destruction?


2 thoughts on “Indie Author Spotlight – Katy Huth Jones

  1. Pingback: “He Who Finds Mercy” Series – Clean Fantasy! | alliesopinions

Leave a Reply

