Children’s Book Review “Hooray For Diffendoofer Day!” Dr. Seuss

 

synopsis

Started by Seuss, finished by Prelutsky, and illustrated by Lane Smith, “Hooray for Diffendoofer Day!” is a joyous ode to individuality. The story stars an unsinkable teacher named Miss Bonkers and quirky little Diffendoofer School, which must prove it has taught its students how to think. Includes Seuss’ original 1989 pencil sketches and hand-printed notes for the book. (Ages 4 – 8)

Hooray for Diffendoofer day Cover

Amazon Buy Button

As a child I loved anything that Dr. Seuss wrote. I devoured every book I could find from him. So, when I became a parent I was so excited to share these stories with my own son. I read him “The Grinch Who Stole Christmas” for the first time when he was only 4 months old. That was his first Christmas. 

You can imagine my excitement when I found a book by Seuss that I had never read. I was so excited when I found it at the library that I called my husband at work just to gush. He was just as excited as I was. 

This book was started by Seuss before he died and finished by Jack Prelutsky and Lane Smith after Seuss’ passing. I am so happy that they finished it.

I am a huge proponent of teaching and nurturing a critical thinking mindset in children. Apparently, so was Seuss.

This book take’s you through an amazing school where the world is brought to life in fun and exciting ways. Where life is lived with wonder and amazement. 

Of all the books by Seuss, This is in my top two favorite list.

Best of all, my two year old LOVES it. He listens so intently every single time I read it to him. He smiles and laughs at the antic’s of the teachers.

This story celebrates learning in creative ways. It celebrates the individuality of children. It reminds us that we are all something special because we are our own person.

As a parent, I couldn’t of asked for more in a book. If Seuss were still alive, I would hunt him down and hug the crap out of him for all he has done for children.

They are so much more than mere stories.

Please, please, please read this story to your children. Remember that we are not cookie cutter and cherish and nurture your sweet child’s individuality. 

Mason and I give this book 5 stars.

5 stars

Amazon Buy Button

Arrow Border

The Technical Data:

Title: Hooray For Diffendoofer Day | Author(s): Dr. Seuss, Jack Prelutsky, Lane Smith |Publisher: Harper Collins / Publication Date: 11-5-2001 |Pages: 64 (paperback) |
ISBN: 9780007127405 | Genre(s): Children’s  | Language: English |
Rating: 5 out of 5 |  Date Read: 10-26-2015 | Source: Library

2 thoughts on “Children’s Book Review “Hooray For Diffendoofer Day!” Dr. Seuss

  1. Pingback: The Booklist – 5 Books You Should Read | AlliesOpinions

Leave a Reply

