Indie Author Spotlight- D.G. Driver

D.G. Driver is the incredible writer of two books I have reviewed. “Passing Notes” and “Cry of the Sea”. Click the titles to see my reviews. She has the amazing gift of writing from a teenagers perspective with such accuracy it will transport you back to your own teen years. Her stories are perfect for any young adult and as an adult I enjoyed them too. 


SAMSUNG

Author Bio:

D. G. Driver is the author of Cry of the Sea, a new YA fantasy novel featuring mermaids, published by Fire and Ice. She also wrote “The Jamaican Dragon” which is featured in the pirate anthology A Tall Ship, A Star and Plunder from Dark Oak Press. As Donna Getzinger she is the author of several nonfiction books. She is a long time member of SCBWI. In addition to writing, she is a teacher and actress.


-The Interview-

Q: In your book “Cry of the Sea”, the main characters are all environmental activists. Is this a passion of your own?

I originally hail from Southern California, and I think we’re all a little more environmentally conscious there. Every house has a recycling can. There were always droughts (and of course there’s a major one now), so we grew up learning how to conserve water. I grew up 20 minutes from the beach and learned at a young age to keep plastic and trash out of the water. Now I live in Tennessee, and caring for the environment is a growing thing. Nashville has a big Earth Day festival each spring, and I had a booth at a Earth Day festival in a smaller town south of Nashville that same weekend. It was a busy day. I’m excited to see people caring about the planet.

Q:  The Mermaid myth has fascinated people for thousands of years. Do you think they could exist? Or have existed?

Right at this moment there is a HUGE mermaid fandom. I don’t know when that started, but I’ve discovered there are thousands of people who love mermaids, believe in mermaids, and cosplay as mermaids. There are professional mermaid models and performers, and they are exquisite. So, I bite my lip a little as I write this, because I don’t want to disappoint any of those people, but no, I don’t believe there are real mermaids. I think that they began as lore to explain why sailors disappeared at sea. I like to believe that if mermaids were indeed real, though, they would look like the ones in my book, less human and more creature.

Q:  Where do you find the most inspiration for your writing?

I get a lot of my ideas from snippets in the news or a cast off fact in a documentary about a different subject. The concept for Cry of the Sea was initially born after all the 1999 press coverage of the 10-year anniversary of the Exxon-Valdez oil spill. I toyed with the idea of what would happen if a mermaid washed up during an oil spill. It took a long time from idea to published book, but that was the genesis.

Q: What advice would you give to a new writer?

Slow down. It’s not a race. Take the time to write a really good story, a clean story, and then take a break for a month before coming back to clean it up. Don’t concentrate on where you’re going to publish. Worry about that later. Also, read a lot, especially in the genre you want to write.

Just for fun questions:

Q: If you were stranded on a deserted island, what 3 things (other than basic survival items) would you want to have?

I like that you put that caveat in there. And I’m going with “things” as not including people. Is it wrong that a part of me wants to say a volleyball?

  1. A soft blanket. I get cold easily and I would also want to cuddle with it when I got lonely and sad.
  2. Pictures of my family, real printed ones.
  3. A large book of classic short stories like the one I got in college. I think I wouldn’t get bored reading those over and over as much as I would one novel.

Q: What would you say is the weirdest phobia you have?

Weird? I think I can honestly say no one has ever called me weird. I’m one of those really calm, normal people. However, I am intensely shy, and what people think is weird about me is that I am also an actress and singer and love being on stage. The only way I can explain it is this: when I’m in a show or doing a presentation, I’ve been asked to be there. People are coming to be entertained by me. When I’m approaching someone at a party or a conference (or whatever social venue) no one has asked me to be there, I’m putting myself there. So, I become afraid of not being welcomed or liked.

Q: What was something you did/wore/loved that was totally cool when you were a teen, but you now wish you could erase from history?

Oh, well, I was a teen in the ‘80s so there’s quite a lot of clothing I wore then that kids wear as costumes now. I was a dancer back then and a big fan of the Flashdance look. I kept the cut up sweatshirt going way longer than necessary. I don’t think I looked that bad, though, just very ‘80s. What did look bad was the poodle perm I had my sophomore year.

Q: If the Zombie Apocalypse happened, how do you think you would fare?

My husband is pretty good with guns and my step-daughter is pretty good with knives. I’m pretty level-headed in a crisis, but I’m not tough. I think if we work as a team, I might fare well. I hate to say this, but my daughter’s kind of panicky, so she might get eaten first. I’d die second because I’d run after her to protect her.


21487672

Summary from Goodreads:

Juniper Sawfeather is choosing which college to attend after graduation from West Olympia High School next year. She wants to go to San Diego to be far away from her environmental activist parents. They expect her to think the way they do, but having to be constantly fighting causes makes it difficult to be an average 17 year old high school student. Why do her parents have to be so out there? Everything changes when she and her father rush to the beach after a reported oil spill. As they document the damage, June discovers three humans washed up on the beach, struggling to breathe through the oil coating their skin. At first she thinks they must be surfers, but as she gets closer, she realizes these aren’t human at all. They’re mermaids!Now begins a complex story of intrigue, conspiracy and manipulation as June, her parents, a marine biologist and his handsome young intern, her best friend, the popular clique at school and the oil company fight over the fate of the mermaids.

This book can be purchased at Amazon. Click the link —-> “Cry of the Sea”.


passing notes book

Summary from Goodreads:

Mark has finally gotten the attention of the girl of his dreams. Only, his lame attempts at romance through texts and emails seem to be turning her off. When he gets put in the back of the room in an over-full class at school, he begins to discover old notes giving advice about how to write a great love letter. At first he thinks he’s stumbled on some long-forgotten notes passed in class ages ago, but every time he reads them they seem directed specifically to him. They also appear at the perfect moment each time he needs more advice. It’s like someone is haunting him.

How do the notes keep appearing? Who’s writing them? Why?

And if Mark follows the ghostly writer’s advice, will he win Bethany’s love?

This book can be purchased at Amazon. Click the link —> “Passing Notes”.

One thought on “Indie Author Spotlight- D.G. Driver

  1. Pingback: 5 Star YA Book “Cry of the Sea” by D. G. Driver | alliesopinions

Leave a Reply

