Book Review “Cold Water Bridegroom” B. Brumley

 

synopsis

 Calder Brumen grew up in San Francisco, and he’s always been drawn to the ocean. He’s spent his life capturing the beauty of the Pacific on canvas. Over time, he’s grown obsessed with painting the image of a dark haired mermaid named Gaire, and Calder struggles to explain his devotion to these portraits to his best friend. When Calder finds sandy footprints leading to the edge of his bed, he suspects that the haunting siren is real. In pursuit of the truth, Calder is dragged into a murderous, underwater plot that could destroy them all. And he must choose – is the possibility of a lifetime with Gaire worth risking death for himself and everyone he loves?

cold water bridegroom

Amazon Buy Button

birds banner

Mermaid’s, sea nymphs and magical prophesies. Honestly, what else do you need in a book to make it awesome? Cold Water Bridegroom hits the nail on the head.

I loved this book. I always enjoy reading from a man’s perspective. It’s a nice change up from the multitude of female protagonists out there. 

This story is written perfectly. The pacing is great. The character building is great. The descriptions are amazing. The mystery woman is set up perfectly. There is a perfect amount of action and emotional dilemma.

It really hooked me. Which really is not that common with a shorter book. I have found that with the shorter novels, I’m left still wanting more detail. I’m left feeling like I didn’t get enough closure to the story.

This book closed up real nice. All the characters for the most part had happy endings. As you all know by now, I like my endings tidy and happy.

Calder’s character is very well written. Right off the bat I could see the world through his eyes and feel his draw to the mystery mermaid woman. I could feel his frustration. I could feel his confusion. 

For a book about mermaids, it was incredibly realistic. If I ever go diving, there is a good chance that I’ll be keeping my eye out for some under water mermaid civilization. To be honest though, I really am the target audience for this book. I want mermaids to be real pretty bad. 

In short, this book was amazing. I wish it didn’t have to end. I could live in that world a bit longer. 

This book gets the full 5 stars!

5 stars

Amazon Buy Button


The Technical Data:

Title: Cold Water Bridegroom | Author(s): B. Brumley |Publisher: Joyful Peacock Press / Publication Date: 8-2-2015 |Pages: 204 (paperback) |
ISBN: 9780692538418 | Genre(s): Fantasy  | Language: English |
Rating: 5 out of 5 |  Date Read: 10-29-2015 | Source: Copy from author

One thought on “Book Review “Cold Water Bridegroom” B. Brumley

Leave a Reply

