Book Review – “Aerisia: Gateway To The Underworld” by Sarah Ashwood

This is the second book in “The Sunset Lands Beyond” trilogy. The first book “Aerisia – Land Beyond the Sunset” was reviewed by me on November 10th. To see the 5 star review, click the title.

 

 

Discovering she is another world’s prophesied heroine was not something Hannah Winters could have ever predicted. However, having accepted the mantle of Aerisia’s Artan, Hannah must now move beyond the pain of the past and conquer her magic in order to save this land. Will the pitfalls awaiting her—suspicion, rumors, lies, betrayal, murder, warfare—halt her quest? Who is Hannah’s ally, and who only appears to be? Will shocking revelations about her heritage push her away or convince her that she’s walking the right path? With the Dark Powers growing bolder every day, Hannah’s pursuit of answers leads her to the Underworld, a place where even immortals dare not tread, on a journey from which she may not return.

gateway to the underworld cover

Amazon Buy Button


 

This book was just as awesome as the first. I really enjoyed exploring the changing relationship between Ilgard and Hannah. He is a pillar of strength in her time of need.

I am fond of the way their relationship is playing out. Considering all of the trials and obstacles they have weathered, I would say the bond they are building is very realistic.

I also enjoyed how there is more explanation of the prophecies in this book. They are timed really well and add weight and merit to each new event that occurs. 

The world building continues to impress me. I really enjoyed how much more of Aerisia is brought to light. This is an intricate world and the author does a great job of introducing pieces of it in ways that aren’t overwhelming to the reader. 

I abhorred the aversion the Aerisian people showed the Simanthe. I was very happy to see that resolved. 

Don’t even get me started on the ending. You will be sitting on the edge of your seat!

This trilogy is incredibly well written and continues to capture and hold my attention and imagination. 

This author continues to surprise and delight me with each new book I read. 

I give this book the full five stars.

5 stars

 

I personally recommend this book. It has my official stamp of approval.

dino stamp of approval

 

 


 

The Technical Data:

Title: Aerisia – Gateway to the Underworld (book 2) | Author(s): Sarah Ashwood |Publisher: Griffineus Publications / Publication Date: 7-29-2014 | Pages: 231 (Kindle) |ISBN: B00M8PLSJM | Genre(s): Fantasy | Language: English |Rating: 5 out of 5 |  Date Read: 11-22-2015 | Source: Copy From Author

Leave a Reply

