Not Santa

Yesterday Daniel and I took Mason to see Santa. Knowing that two year olds can be shy when meeting new people, I had a plan. 

We have been reading Christmas books about Santa since December began. We’ve watched Christmas movies about Santa. Mason has colored in Santa coloring books. We’ve sang songs about Santa. I literally immersed him in Santa everything. 

I thought that if I made Santa someone that was familiar then we wouldn’t have the stranger issue. Mason is not a fan of strangers. At all.

Daniel and I thought we had taken this Santa thing and kicked its ass.

We were wrong. Big time.

When we got to the grocery store to see Santa, Mason saw the poster with Santa’s face on it. He was perfectly fine with the poster.

Then….he saw the real Santa.

The look on his face was pure shock and distrust. He looked at Santa like exactly what this Santa was. Some guy dressed up and not the real Santa.

In defense of our grocery store Santa, he did his best. He HO HO HO’d. He Merry Christmased. He talked about his reindeer and the north pole.

Mason was not buying it.

Mason said ” not santa”.

This is the exact moment in my life when I realized just how much my child is like me. 

When I was a kid, even as young as Mason, I did not believe in Santa. I did not buy into the Easter bunny. I scoffed at the idea of a tooth fairy. I told my parents that they weren’t real. I told them they were just stories. I did not buy into anything that seemed magical or veered from my view of reality. Including religion. That’s a story for another time though.

Daniel and I never once told Mason while reading all those Santa stories that Santa was a real person. Both of us felt that it wouldn’t be right. We didn’t tell him he wasn’t real either. We just read the story.

Mason made up his own mind on the subject. That’s how we plan on doing everything. It’s his job to discern what he believe’s is real and what isn’t. As far as myths go that is.

I’ll admit I thought this was a real possibility and I am a little bummed out about it. I have always seen the world for what it is. It’s a heavy burden to carry sometimes. I can not turn it off. I can’t “not see” the injustices of the world. They are there in all their glory. Now my son will see this too.

Being a parent is often a mixed bag of emotions. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

