Book Review “VisionSight” by Connie Lacy

visionsight cover

Summary from Amazon:

Jenna Stevens sees the future. But only when she looks into her loved ones’ eyes. And it’s driving her crazy because she can’t prevent all the misery and heartache lying in wait. She quickly decides the gift of “vision-sight” she inherited from her mother is actually a curse.

So she distances herself from everyone she cares about, throwing herself into her acting career and the arms of a young director. But she’s haunted by her visions and begins drinking as her life spirals out of control.

VisionSight is the story of a young woman’s search for courage as she tries to figure out how to help the people she loves. What she doesn’t realize is that she must save herself as well. A heartfelt novel of secrets and unexpected love.

Magical Realism and Contemporary Women’s Fiction.


 

This book put an interesting twist on the visions of the future premise. At first, it seemed as though it was going to be nothing but heartache for Jenna. Then she is able to manipulate the visions and alter the trajectory of the future.

I like premonition novels. I like the whole idea of premonitions. Honestly, how many of us wish we could see some future mistake we are going to make in time to fix it? I can think of about a million stupid things I’ve done that could have been prevented.

This one has an interesting spin at first with the ability to only see loved one’s futures. That made this interesting for sure. Those are the ones we would be the most scared to see. But, aren’t they also the most important ones?

Jenna spends a lot of the book wallowing in despair due to the things she has seen in peoples futures. I can’t say I’d do any different.

For the most part I really enjoyed this book. However, there were a few things that just kept me from absolutely loving it. 

First off I felt like I didn’t really get to know Jenna the way I wanted. As a character she felt far away and didn’t stir my emotions the way she should have.

Secondly, the speed at which Brian and Jenna fall in love. Normally this isn’t an issue. I don’t mind love at first sight stories. I need something more than what I got here though. They spent very little time together and Jenna seemed mostly aloof. It seemed like the book went from hey there’s that brian guy working on my lawn and Jenna passing out drunk to oh my god I am suddenly in love with Brian.

The premise of the book is great. I would read it again. The characters just need a bit more fine tuning. 

P.s. I love this books cover!

I grant this book 4 stars.

4 star

This book is available for purchase through Amazon. Click the title below

VISIONSIGHT


The Technical Data:

Title: VISIONSIGHT | Author(s): Connie Lacy |

Publisher: Create Space Independant Publishing / Publication Date: 10-17-2015 | Pages: 290 (Paperback) |ISBN: 9781518607226 | Genre(s): Women’s Fiction / Science Fiction | Language:English |Rating: 4 out of 5 |  Date Read: 1-3-2016 | Source: Copy From Author

3 thoughts on “Book Review “VisionSight” by Connie Lacy

  1. Pingback: Great Scifi Novel “VisionSight” by Connie Lacy | AlliesOpinions

Leave a Reply

