Book Review “Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter” by Tim Learn

Chewy Noh winter cover

Click Here To Buy!

Chewy Noh has many problems. Besides his mom becoming a mu-dang—a Korean fortune-teller possessed by his dead grandmother who can read minds—the school bully, Kent, is still on the warpath to get Chewy kicked out of school. With his secret ability to win at everything, none of this bothers him until he starts disappearing for no reason while a mysterious force attacks his fellow students, and he must scramble to figure out what’s going on before he becomes its next and final victim.



First off, I must admit that I knew nothing about Korean myth or culture before this book. I don’t think I’ve read anything from a Korean’s  perspective. This was a delightful first for me.

Mr. Learn’s writing style is easy to follow and fun to read. I enjoyed getting to know Chewy, Clint and everyone else who plays a part in this book. There were a few things I felt like I was in the dark with. I believe this is the second book in the series so that probably explains my confusion at certain references or events.

Chewy is an interesting character. He is of two worlds culturally. It was an interesting thing to watch him maneuver. 

One of my favorite things about this book is that it addresses racism and acceptance in very inadvertent ways. The message and struggle is there but, it’s a part of the story instead of the whole story. I think it adds a complexity that I really wasn’t expecting.

I found a lot of the Korean culture portrayed in this book very interesting. It sounds like a very complex system to live with. 

Since this is a series I’m not going to knock it too hard for not having a solid ending. I will say that I was a bit disappointed. I felt like a lot of loose threads were left but, like I said, this is a series so I’m not going to take points off.

The one thing that bothered me the most about this book that I can’t really get over is that Chewy’s power was to be great at tests. That seems really short-sighted to me. Why was his wish so specific? Why not make a broader wish and just wish to be able to absorb all knowledge easily and have a perfect memory? Maybe that’s a bit complex for the age group this book is targeted for. I felt like that aspect of the story could of been used a bit better to add to the plot. 

I really enjoyed the story. I think it has great messages for it’s age group. The writing style was fun and easy to follow for the most part. The only thing that’s keeping it from getting the full five stars is the plot falling a little short. 

With these things in mind, I am rating this book at 4 stars.

4 star


The Technical Data:

Title: Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter | Author(s): Tim Learn |

Publisher:  Amazon Digital Services / Publication Date: 7-15-2015 |Pages: 314 (Kindle Edition) |
ISBN: 9781505851458  | Genre(s): Urban Paranormal / Young Adult |Language:English |Rating: 4 out of 5 |  Date Read: 4-14-2016 | Source: Copy From Author

4 thoughts on “Book Review “Chewy Noh and the Phantasm of Winter” by Tim Learn

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday – April 20 2016 | AlliesOpinions

  2. Pingback: A New Review for Chewy 2 | Tim Learn

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: “Why I Wrote The 2nd Chewy Noh” by Author Tim Learn | AlliesOpinions

  4. Pingback: End of April Review | Tim Learn

Leave a Reply

