#ThankfulThursday – Simple Things

Thankful quote

In the rush of life it is easy to take for granted the simple things. Before I got pregnant with my son I worked 16 hour days. All I could think about was making money. I grew up very poor and  money has always been my chief worry. 

After I found out I was pregnant, that worry about money took over my mind. I worried that I wouldn’t be able to give my child everything he wanted in life. I didn’t want him to have to go without. Like I had to go without way too many times in life. I didn’t want him to live on that dark side of poverty where days go by and you don’t know if you’re going to eat. 

About halfway through my pregnancy, I read a book about a mother carrying her baby to 41 weeks for that baby to be born dead. Her biggest regret was not cherishing all those little kicks throughout her pregnancy. The whole book was heartbreaking. 

It opened my eyes to some things that I had definitely been taking for granted. I had a very healthy pregnancy. Then, I had a very healthy baby. Guess what? All that crap I had bought for him didn’t matter. All that baby needed was me.

All what he still wants most of the time is me.

money quote

Now I have two children. That little baby boy is now a toddler and he has a baby sister. I don’t worry so much about getting them the latest and greatest baby gear.

They don’t care about that stuff.

They are both perfectly happy to sit in my lap and listen to me read them a story. I read to them more times than I can count everyday. 

I am thankful that I have two healthy children who are happy and kind. I’m thankful that they love for me to read to them. I am thankful that they love me as much as they do. 

When I get sick or sad my son will do all he can to make me feel better. I am thankful that he is so caring.

My daughter is one of the happiest babies I’ve ever seen. She is always giggling and squealing. 

I have so much in my life to be thankful for. 

Money doesn’t consume me the way it did. I pay the bills I can pay and do the best I can. 

It’s all any of us can do. Worrying yourself into a frenzy isn’t going to fix anything.

That saying about making mole hills into mountains is a real thing. And, I don’t do that anymore.

simple things quote

What are you thankful for? Let me know! Share your wisdom!

4 thoughts on “#ThankfulThursday – Simple Things

Leave a Reply

