Top Ten Tuesday – How Books Inspire Me

This prompt comes from the ever resourceful “The Broke and Bookish”. Each week there is a different theme! It’s a fun way for bloggers to connect and readers to get to know us better! It helps the writing community get a little extra promotion for their work as well as give some pretty great intel to readers looking for a new read!

Top Ten Tuesday Heart

The original prompt is below:

Top Ten Tuesday REWIND — go back and do a topic you missed over the years or recently or a topic you really want to revisit

My twist:

How books I’ve read have changed and inspired me.

♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥  ♥

1: The Chronicles of Narnia

The Chronicles of Narnia Box Set Cover

I was very little when I first saw this book upon a shelf in the library. I remember my tiny hand reaching up and grasping the hardcover book. I remember bringing it to my nose and smelling it. Once I opened the book, I had entire worlds open to me. I believed that a mere girl could do anything.

2: A Little Princess

A Little Princess Cover

I was about seven when I read this book for the first time. My family was very poor. My mother an awful person. Getting lost in these pages was my lifeboat. It taught me to remember that good people exist. It taught me that we are all worthy.

3: Night

Night Cover

I was ten the first time I read this. I remember my teacher picking it up off the corner of my desk and looking at me intently. She kept me late after class and told me that she didn’t feel it was an appropriate book for someone my age. She told me that such things were not for the minds of children. I told her that horror isn’t regulated to adults only. I told her that history belongs to us all. I told her that if others knew the capacity for cruelness in others, maybe we could over come it. She handed me the book  and never said another word to me directly. That entire year she avoided my hand in the air. She never looked me in the face again.

4: Peter Pan

Peter Pan Cover

When I was eleven I met an elderly man at the library. He was reading Peter Pan and appeared to be crying. Curiosity overcame me and I approached him. I patted his shoulder and asked him if he was alright. He told me that his wife had just passed away and now he was alone and very sad. He told me that he had a child once who had died young. He told me of the folk tale about Peter Pan. I was intrigued and checked the book out that very same day. 

5: Silent Spring

Silent Spring Cover

I was a teenager when I read this book for the first time. This book inspired me to care more about the world around me.

top ten tuesday 1

What’s on your list?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – How Books Inspire Me

  1. I love the Chronicles of Narnia! 🙂

    What books inspire me? Good question. I love so many.

    1. To Kill a Mockingbird
    2. Small Gods by Terry Pratchett
    3. Train Your Mind, Change Your Brain
    4. The Emotional Life of Your Brain
    5. Pippi Longstocking
    6. Everything by Douglas Anne Munson (aka, Mercedes Lambert)
    7. The Monkey’s Raincoat
    8. Devil in a Blue Dress
    9. Death is a Lonely Business by Ray Bradbury

    There’s probably more, but I can’t remember them all. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

