Book Review “I Become You” Thomas Hughes

synopsis

A sometimes horrifying, sometimes hilarious post-modern, gothic fairy tale for people who don’t believe in fairy tales, I Become You is the tale of Sheep, an empathic lab experiment gone bad, desperate to do good and incapable of doing much of anything at all. Join Sheep as it learns to become itself while it becomes us, for better, for worse, and finally, forever.

i-become-you-cover

Amazon Buy Button

First lines: Doctor Bertram Engel cradles my tiny head in long, agile fingers. He examines my eye, human in all respects, the deep blue of the Sinclairs. The pressure of his fingers initiates some small connection. A spark is struck upon the rock.

“I Become You” is just as the summary presents. With elements of Gothic culture, Buddhism, and the exploration of extreme mental illness, “I Become You” is a long and winding tale of the human condition. 

For those of you who have lived hard lives, I don’t suggest this book as it may be triggering on a lot of fronts. With tales of extreme abuse ranging from rape, child abuse and self harm I will put out the warning that the scenes in this book are graphic and you may wish to steer clear.

This book is an honest gritty look at the inner demons humanity battles. With pages of deep introspection and the exploration of Philosophies great questions, “I Become You” will entertain and enrich you. That’s high praise.  

Magical realism is one of my favorite genres and “I Become You” definitely does it justice. I will admit that the story is definitely drawn out and at times can be a bit long winded but for those who enjoy this kind of tale it isn’t bothersome. Each character is intricately developed and hauntingly real.

There are some really interesting twists to the story that I did not see coming. Especially the ending. Whew, that threw me for a biiiiig loop.

All in all, “I Become You” is a very good book. Hughes put his heart and intellect into every word of this story. It’s unique and will be a story that sticks with you long after you have turned the last page.

5 stars.

5 stars

Amazon Buy Button

The Technical Data:

Title: I Become You  | Series:  N/A  |  Author(s):  Thomas Hughes |Publisher: Create Space Indepedant Publishing / Publication Date: 6-22-2015 |Pages: 274 (Print) | ISBN: 978-1508424383 |Genre(s): Magical Realism / Science Fiction |Language: English |Rating: 5 out of 5 |  Date Read: 10-17-2016 |Source: Copy from Author

Leave a Reply

